Although there is a National Air Quality Act, each province is mandated to produce its own air quality management plan that takes into account the specifics of the province.

Water and Environmental Affairs Minister Edna Molewa has, under the National Environmental Management: Air Quality Act, declared the Waterberg area as a national priority area.